Review: The wise man’s fear by Patrick Rothfuss

“It’s the questions we can’t answer that teach us the most. They teach us how to think. If you give a man an answer, all he gains is a little fact. But give him a question and he’ll look for his own answers.”

I did it guys! I can finally say that I finished this huge book. I’m proud of myself. It took me a little longer than I had hoped, but here we are. And although there were some things that bothered me and I didn’t love this book as much as the first one, it was still epic.

The wise man’s fear picks up the story where The name of the wind (my review) has left it. Again we follow the young Kvothe and his adventures. But in this book you really see Kvothe change from a boy into a man. Which brings me to the first thing that bothered me a bit. I found it hard imagining that Kvothe was only fifteen/sixteen years old throughout the book. He spoke and acted like he was way older and people also treated him like that. It didn’t feel right.

I was also very glad that the story took a turn and we got to see something else than the life Kvothe was having at the university. I got a little bored with that eventually and it felt like I was reading things over and over again. But just when I was fed up with that, a new adventure started. It was perfectly timed.

A major plus for this book is that it goes places we haven’t seen before. We get to know the world Patrick Rothfuss has created a little better, we get introduced to new cultures (maybe even new worlds), how people live, how things work there and we also get introduced to a lot of new and very interesting characters. I still like Kvothe a lot, although he makes it more and more difficult for me to like him along the way. About some of the other characters:

  • Denna, I still don’t know what you want.
  • Simmon, I want you t0 be my friend!
  • Although you’re crazy master Elodin, you’re still fantabulous.
  • Auri you’re so cute!
  • Fela and Devi, I like you two.
  • I thought I didn’t like you at first, then I started to like you Maer Alveron and now after everything that happened, I just don’t know how I think about you.
  • Bast, you just got very interesting.. and dark.
  • And last but not least, Tempi, you’re hilarious and I like you a lot.

This book was about a 1000 pages long.. I think that wasn’t necessary. In the middle there was a part of the book that really dragged on. Which made it hard to keep on reading. My favourite part of the book were the last 1/3 pages or so. That was when things got really interesting and we got to see another side of our young Kvothe.

I still love the little verses in the book. Kvothe is a musician and he sings songs, and I love reading those lines. The same goes for the stories that are being told by different people. They are so unique and most of the time contain a good life lesson and still are related to the story of the book in general. One of them almost got me teared up..

And in this book again I’m amazed by how the magic works. It’s so complicated, but yet it feels so realistic. Every part of it makes sense.

Patrick Rothfuss was also on a roll with his humor. Although it’s not always my kind of humor, I still laughed a lot. He already had me on page 56..

“People don’t like being toyed with”, Stanchion replied. “They resent it, in fact. Nobody likes having a joke played on them.”  “Technically”, Simmon interjected, grinning, “he played the joke on the lute.” Everyone turned to look at him and his grin faded a bit. “You see? He actually played a joke. On a lute.” He looked down at the table, his grin fading as his faced flushed a sudden embaressed red. “Sorry.”

This is so me! I always make ‘jokes’ like that and then I’m the only one who thinks they’re funny. So maybe that’s why I liked this one.

Another aspect I love about the books are the returning proloques and epiloques. I can’t really tell much about that, because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I think Patrick Rothfuss really did some magical things with them. It’s simple, but very effective.

And now I will have to wait untill the third and last book in the series will be released. Unfortunately the only thing we know of the book is the name, Doors of Stone. The release date is not yet set. And we know Patrick Rothfuss will only release a book he thinks is perfect, so it will take a lot of time before it’s here, but I’ll be waiting, ’cause I’m eager to know how this story continues and how it will end!

RATING: ★★★★½

* wondering how many pages the last book will be having*

The wise man’s fear / Patrick Rothfuss / Gollancz / 2012 / 1008 pages / ISBN 9780575081437

Leave a Reply

