Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

“Sometimes, the wicked will tell us things just to confuse us–to haunt our thoughts long after we’ve faced them.”

This was actually the book I was most looking forward to read this month. The synopsis looked very intriguing and there was a lot of hype around it. So I had high expectations for this one. Unfortunately, the book couldn’t live up to my expactations entirely.

Throne of glass is about Adarlan’s most notorious assassin; Celaena Sardothien. She has served for a year, as a punishment, in the salt mines of Endovier. Known as a death camp. But then one day the crown prince of Adarlan offers her her freedom, under one condition: She must act as his Champion in a competition to become the king’s assassin. The story continues when the competition has started and Celeana has to beat the others in a series of eliminations. But the story gets a twist when one of her opponents turns out dead, and more will follow.

I already said it, but I really liked the idea of the story. An assassin who has to compete in a competition against other assassins, thieves etc. I pictured a lot of action and gruesome scenes, but that was, unfortunately, not the case. It was more of a romantic story and Celaena wasn’t really a cold and deadly assassin as I had pictured her. She came across to me as just a girl with some skills. In the first three quarter of the book it felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again. She was training, she had passed some tests, another champion was found dead. That was almost the only thing going on. And the tests weren’t even described. It literally went like this: two weeks later, she had passed three tests. I was really disappointed. So it took me a while to read the book and I actually picked up another book, because I just couldn’t do it at first. But I’m glad I continued with the book, because I really enjoyed the last quarter of the book

Now let’s talk about the characters. I didn’t like them at all in the beginning. I thought Celaena was annoying and way too perfect, she didn’t feel like a realistic character, Dorian was annoying too and then Choal. I didn’t get him. But I have to say that later in the book, much later, I started to like them a little. Dorian and Celaena turned out to be a little funny and I actually enjoyed some conversations they were having. And I have to admit that I started to actually like Coal. He turned out to be a very interesting person after all and I also liked the relationship he had with Celaena.

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

I have liked Princess Nehemia since she got introduced in the book. She was brave, determined, smart and likeable. And I loved the relationship she shared with Celaena.

And I think lady Kaltain was a good addition to all the characters too. She and the things that happened to her really showed how selfish, greedy and cruel people could be.

Further I have to say that it was a rather mild fantasy book. But what I did like about the book was the idea of the wyrdmarks and everything behind it. It’s a good thing to start with, I hope Sarah J. Maas will expand it in the other books. Although it wasn’t really original in my opinion, it was still very interesting. And the connection with Celaena, yes it was predictable but I forgive her for that, I really want to know more about it.

So even though this wasn’t a perfect book, I eventually enjoyed it and got to connect with the characters. And after reading the reviews of Crown of midnight, I think I will be picking up the next book in the series, because it looks very promising.

RATING: ★★★½

Throne of Glass /  Sarah J. Maas / Bloomsbury / 2012 / 404 pages / ISBN 9781408832332

5 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

