Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

“I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside. It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.”

This is a hard one for me.

The young elites follows a girl named Adelina Amouteru. Adelina is a malfetto; she survived the blood fever and now is marked for her life. They had to take out her eye, so there’s a scar on her face where her eye ones was. Malfetto’s are hated by a lot of people. Even her father hates her for who she is. He only loves her sister, Violette, because she is just perfect. One evening when her father makes a deal to sell Adelina, she finds herself on the run from her father. But she accidently kills her father and discovers that she has got an ability a human shouldn’t have. She’s a young elite. But the inquisitors have tracked her down and now want to kill her. On the day she’s to be killed, she gets rescued by a group of young elites, they call themselves the daggers. Trained young elites who have mastered their powers and they have a mission. Adelina finds sanctuary by them and they train her to get control over her ability. But Adelina’s ability is far stronger than any young elite before her and so she can be a danger to others and even to herself.

I really liked the concept of this book. That they have gained extraordinary powers, because of a blood fever. And the abilities created in this book are rather unique and very cool. They are diverse and interesting to read about. Especially when they are used together. At first I was hesitant about Adelina’s ability. Because it was said that her power is the strongest of all. I didn’t see that, until I got to think about it a little better. And then what I was thinking came true, and it was good. Very good actually, but also pretty dark and gruesome.

That is another aspect of the book that I really liked. The story is very dark and eerie at some points and a lot of the characters are really dark too. I thought this was pretty cool. Adelina herself is the darkest I think. It’s all due to her past. And most of the book is being told from her perspective, so you know everything she thinks and feels. In most of the books I have read, you follow a character who is flawed but tries to do the right thing. In this book we not only follow a flawed girl, she also isn’t really aware of it. But that’s not all, she is more than flawed and she most certainly doesn’t always tries to do good. She feels the need to seek revenge and she will make sure she gets it. It was a very interesting point of view. Some small parts of the book are being told from the perspective of a villain, which was pretty interesting too, because you get to know why he became like this.

theyoungelites

But I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t really feeling the other characters, I’m not saying they weren’t good or interesting, but I didn’t like them as much as other people do and not as much as I liked Adelina.

The book also lacked a bit of feelings, in my opinion. There was only one event that truly made me feel something and it took almost the whole book to finally happen. But it really got me.

The book did contain a little bit of romance. Although it sometimes felt a bit awkward to me, it still was ok.

Overall this book was an enjoyable read. With a very pleasant writing style of Marie Lu. It’s not very special or so, just really nice. And with this book ending like this, I’m really curious for the next one.

“It is pointless to believe what you see, if you only see what you believe.”

RATING: ★★★★

The Young Elites / Marie Lu / Penguin / 2014 / 368 pages / ISBN 9780141361826

2 thoughts on “Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

