Review: City of bones by Cassandra Clare

A few weeks ago the sneek previews and the teaser of the tv show Shadowhunters (premieres januari 12, 2016) were released. So I thought I would post my review of City of bones to celebrate this!

I picked this book up, because my sister has got it and I just finished reading the infernal devices. I was a little bit nervous to start the book to be honest, because I loved the infernal devices trilogy and I heard that the mortal instruments wasn’t as good as those books. Maybe I should’ve started with the mortal instruments, but the plot of the infernal devices just appealed more to me.

The two different series are set in the same world. A world where shadowhunters live amongst demons, werewolves, vampires and other creatures. How awesome is that! I think the world-building is just amazing.

stadvanbeenderen

This is the dutch version of the book

Besides that, there is a lot of action going on in this book. Another big plus for me. But there’s also some necessary, yet interesting, explanation being done. I think those two are well-balanced throughout the book. I love a little mystery, although some of it was kind of predictable.

At first I thought the characters were all just really annoying. They were like little kids hating on each other. Clary, the main character, kept saying she wasn’t a little kid anymore, but I thought she was the biggest of all of them. I actually thought I would end up not liking this book. How is that possible when it’s the same writer as the infernal devices I thought? Which had great and very interesting characters. So I told myself to keep on reading. Glad I did, because it got better while I kept reading the book. And I actually thought Jace’s character got really interesting. He’s got more than one side. He is a little mystery himself.

In my opinion it was a very entertaining book. I cannot say yet if I will like this series more or less than the infernal devices. But I will definitely pick up the next book in the series some time.

RATING: ★★★★

City of bones / Cassandra Clare / Margaret K. McElderry Books / 2007 / 485 pages / ISBN 9781416914280

10 thoughts on “Review: City of bones by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

