Review: Me and Earl and the dying girl by Jesse Andrews

“There are two kinds of hot girls: Evil Hot Girls, and Hot Girls Who Are Also Sympathetic Good-Hearted People and Will Not Intentionally Destroy Your Life (HGWAASGHPAWNIDYL).”

My mission was to find a book that made me laugh out loud, because I never have before! I don’t know why, but it has to be really, really funny to make me laugh out loud, apparently. And I want to so badly. So when I heard that this book was hilarious, I just had to read it and hope it would make my wish come true. And oh boy it did. I was laughing out loud on the first pages already. Although I thought the second part of the book wasn’t as strong as the first part and didn’t had me LOL like the first part did, I still liked it a lot. And it had me almost shedding a tear near the end.

Me and Earl and the dying girl is about a boy named Greg Gaines. He hasn’t really got any friends, but that is his own choice. He has made a formula to get through high school. Get to know everyone from all kinds of cliques, but don’t get to close, so no one would hate you. The only one who comes close to almost being a friend to Greg is Earl. Together they make movies. It all started when they were little. They saw a movie and they loved it so much that they just had to make a remake. The story starts when Greg’s mother tells him Rachel, a girl he knew from his childhood but haven’t talked to since, has got diagnosed with leukemia. His mother forces him to go talk to her to rekindle their friendship. Greg and Earl decide to make a film for Racmeandearlandthedyinggirlhel. And because of that Earl’s invisible life gets turned upside down.

This book is just a lot of fun. It’s hilarious and sad at the same time. Mostly hilarious, though. It contains different writing styles, all very unique and awesome in their own way and some wonderful, yet still very realistic characters. Definitely a must-read.

“There was just something about her dying that I had understood but not really understood, if you know what I mean. I mean, you can know someone is dying on an intellectual level, but emotionally it hasn’t really hit you, and then when it does, that’s when you feel like shit.”

RATING: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Me and Earl and the dying girl / Jesse Andrews / Amulet books / 2012 / 295 pages / ISBN 9781419701764

Leave a Reply

