Review: The girl with all the gifts by M.R. Carey

“Keep your secrets where the monsters can’t find them.”

I feel like such a fool that I didn’t get the clue from the lines at the back of the book. I should’ve known.. So I was totally surprised when I found out what this book was really about and I didn’t know if I was going to like it at first, because I have got some strong feelings about these types of books. But it was so different from the others and I ended up really liking it.

I liked it mostly because of the amazing characters. There’s Melanie, a ten year old girl who is very special. She is cute and smart. You know she is afraid sometimes, but yet she is so brave. She will do anything to make sure the person she loves the most in life, Helen Justineau, is safe. I loved Melanie and the relationship between her and Justineau a lot. It’s just so wonderful.

That brings us to Helen Justineau herself. Where Melanie would do anything to keep Justineau safe, she will do anything to keep Melanie safe. She promised herself this because of some dark secret you will get to know near the end of the book. Justineau doesn’t care who is in charge, she will do what she wants to do. Most of the time I could relate and agreed with her. Probably one of the reasons I liked her.

Another character we get to know in the book is Dr. Caroline Cardwell. She is a doctor and instead of doing anything to keep someone safe, her mission lies in finding something scientific. She will do anything to complete her mission, how cruel and horrible it is she has to do to accomplish it. Although in real life Cardwell and I would probably thegirlwithallthegiftsnot get along very well, I really liked her as a character in this book. She is so different from the others and so strong and present.

Than we have got Sergeant Parks. At first when he got introduced in the book I didn’t like him at all. But you get to know him better and I began to like him while the story continues. Where sometimes Justineau is only thinking about how to keep Melanie safe, Parks will think rationally and knows what they could do best to keep them all safe. I liked that a lot about him.

At last we have got Private Kieran Gallagher. He is young and doesn’t know much about the world he lives in. He was quite of a neutral character to me. It’s not that I didn’t like him, he has got his own likeable characteristics, but he was just not as outstanding as the other characters in this book.

When the five of them, all very different from each other, are survivors of an attack and they decide to flee together to Beacon, the adventure begins.

The story itself was good. It was fast-paced, action-packed, heartbreaking and heartwarming altogether. But I find it a little disappointing that there wasn’t a moment that stood out for me, that really blew me away. The book just didn’t had a climax in my opinion. Yet the ending I will not soon forget. It still creeps into my mind sometimes.

RATING: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

The girl with all the gifts / M.R. Carey / Orbit / 2014 / 460 pages / ISBN  9780356500157

Leave a Reply

